Sunday, July 28, 2013

WHY?!!

So one day, some crazy person had a thought to install automatic lights in the bathrooms of my dorms and not tell anyone.  It didn't take long to figure out they were automatic, because if there is no movement for a couple of minutes they will turn off.  So when in the shower, if you take longer than an a minute, they will turn off.  Having the light turn off while you are in the shower, is not an experience I would like to bestow upon anyone.  You have to stick your arm out and waved it around for the light to come on.  I just thought this was funny.
-Jane

Sunday, July 14, 2013

The Golden Ticket


'Cause I've got a golden ticketI've got a golden twinkle in my eye
I never had a chance to shineNever a happy song to singBut suddenly half the world is mineWhat an amazing thing
'Cause I've got a golden ticket

-by WIlly Wonka Cast

So this is how I felt, when I went to a BYU soccer game and I got in for free.  This super nice, random, sweet lady, came up to me and asked me if I wanted to have her extra ticket.  I said yes, but at the same time felt terrible because I was with a whole bunch of people and I got in for free and they didn't.  Is that just terrible, should I have asked if anyone wanted the ticket.  I guess I should of, but at the moment that she asked my I felt like I had just won an award or even better, GOT A GOLDEN TICKET!
-Jane

Sunday, July 7, 2013

EFY kids

So when your at college, EFY kids drive you crazy.  They "pop out of the ground like daisy's"!! There are just mobs of people that take all of the lines and just steal all of the ice cream this college can offer.  Anyways they are nice, but THEY ARE EVERYWHERE.  It is really fun when you know them and you can get lunch with them, (before they get kicked out of the lunch area because they have to eat lunch with their company).  Anyways, one day I was bringing groceries home and one kid asked if he could carry my food for me.  (I was 50ft from my dorm) so I said, thanks but my dorm is just right there.  Then he proceeded to make a joke about how you ask people for help when you know they don't need it.  I was right there, but oh well, that doesn't matter.  Anyways then he was ya, I'm just joking and he tried to cover up and it was just funny.  I felt bad for the kid because I believe that he really just wanted to help.  Anyways, I hear EFY is great and if you get a chance go.  Who cares what poor, stressed college students think.
-Jane

I'm not a player!!

So my first week of college, I got three numbers.  So the first one was Idaho Boy and the second, is in my FHE group, but he also has the number of my roommate and we are just going to be friends and then the last one is this boy in my Book of Mormon class and I was eating lunch and he comes up to me and gives me his number so that we could study for Book of Mormon together.  I really like to study that stuff on my own, but he was really overwhelmed and has only been a convert for 3 months.  So he is really just a great guy and tries his best.  So it is hard to be in a hard Book of Mormon class with not much background on it.  Anyways, people have been telling me I'm a player or even a heart breaker.  I'm not trying to be, I just am talking to boys and they think that I'm flirting! I don't get it. Anyways, I thought it was funny.  At this rate I will never have to pay for another meal in my life!

Oh which reminds me, after class last friday this boy in my Chemistry class and I went to get lunch and he paid for me.  We barely know each other, but it was really sweet of him to do that for me.  He is really tall, can sing extremely well and was even in a band and played basketball.  Anyways he is leaving on his mission in October, so he will just be here for summer term.  So I can already know that we are going to be great friends.  We also do our science labs together, which is so much fun!  So ya, I'm not a player!!
-Jane

The cute guy

Okay so many are probably wanted to know about this "cute guy".  Well, there was a Saturday dance after orientation and I met this guy (We will just call him Idaho boy).  Anyways, so we just hung out at the dance the entire time and he asked if he could walk back to the dorm with me.  I was being nice, so I let him.  Then we exchanged numbers because we were going to go running friday.  (We have been texting almost everyday and have yet to go running.)  So on Wednesday he texted me and we walked around campus for an hour and just talked and then the next day there was a freshmen kickoff event.  We hung out the entire time there, as well and then he walked me back to my dorm.  Then, he wanted to go play tennis, but I was taking a test so I could not, but on Saturday there was a soccer game not "soccor game".  (sorry inside joke).  And I invited him to come with my roommates and FHE boys and he did! It was just so much fun! We won the game 5 to 1 and it was so great just to talk to him.  He is planning on going on a mission in January and so I think we are just going to be friends, which is exactly what I want.  I don't want to have a relationship my freshmen year.  Then I will be limited on the people I can meet. And there are so many people to meet and get to know.  I really need to get to know all the people in my ward, I still don't know all of them yet.  So that is the update on Idaho boy.
-Jane